Read our story about What To Do If Arrested For DUI.
About Driving Under The Influence
California has been a leader in fighting drunk driving and has passed some of the most significant DUI laws of any state. Even if this is your first offense you may face up to $2,000in fines and fees, plus up to two days in jail, suspension of your license, and be required to attend an alcohol education program. .
The following chart lays out the basics of California DUI law, including blood alcohol contentration (BAC) limits, penalties, and information about license suspension.
California DUI Laws: Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Implied Consent
|“Per Se” BAC Limit||0.08 Percent|
|Zero Tolerance (Underage) BAC Limit||0.02 Percent|
|Enhanced Penalty (Aggravated) BAC Limit||0.16 Percent|
|Implied Consent to Submit to BAC Test?||Yes|
Penalties For DUI
|Minimum License Suspension or Revocation (first, second, or third offense)||6 months, 2 years, up to 10 years|
|Mandatory Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment||Both (education required if under 21)|
|Vehicle Confiscation Possible?||Yes|
|Ignition Interlock Device Possible?||Yes (mandatory for third offense)|